My Expectations for App Academy

Gain the knowledge required to build projects

I've done plenty of tutorials even though I don't feel like I've done enough, I still have not tried to build projects. I want to gain enough experience to create custom websites or apps.

Finally, be able to complete front-end dev challenges

I have always been afraid of websites like code wars, and frontend mentor. They seem like challenges that are too hard for me to finish without help, but I realized my fear of them is precisely why I need to work on them. Not feeling like you are smart enough to complete challenges is a big part of imposter syndrome and I'm trying to work on that.

Immerse myself in one curriculum at a time

As a person that has been self-taught for the biggest part of learning to program, I never really had structured learning or a clear pathway. I have seen 100 roadmaps and suggested learning lists but they are all over the place and it's hard to stick to one, seen a youtube video onetime that said it's difficult to learn because we are constantly presented with new information claiming to be better than the previous. I have been using Free Code Camp for years and just recently finished the Responsive Web certification. Basically, I have a hard time sticking to one cohort all the way through. I plan on doing my best to finish App Academy no matter what side project or boot camp or course I'm doing, App Academy will be the main one.

Complete the boot camp and use the win for inspiration

Defeat is a feeling we all know too well, learning how to accept it is the path of a programmer, so I have learned. Learning how to persevere through loss and celebrate small wins is something I need to focus on, plus I want to get better at the technical interview process. The DSA questions are stupid hard and it's going to take plenty of practice to be prepared for them.

Start freelancing as a web developer

All my current projects are mock-ups and tutorial builds. I don't have any real-world projects. I want to gain enough freelance experience and at least gain a few actual projects to be able to present when asked what I have made. Showing off projects from Free Code Camp and a portfolio website is cool and all but being able to say that I delivered what I promised when paid to code is a feeling that I haven't experienced yet.

Final Thoughts

Even though I have been coding for fun since 2013, the attempt to transition into tech has not been an easy one. I know there are plenty of success stories of how people landed a dev job after a year of coding. Safe to say this IS not one of them, this is a grind hard: blood, sweat, and tears are required to make it story. This is also the beginning of my attempt to create content/blog and finally defeat the #100daysOfCode challenge. So if you have any suggestions or methods don't hesitate to contact me. If you took the time to read thanks and God bless.